A Photo Gallery of Birds I photographed in 2020

Hi friends!

This is my last post for the current year and I thought it would be a good idea to share with you some of the pictures with birds I’ve taken during 2020 that I’m especially fond of. I initially wanted to name this article “Best Bird Pictures Taken in 2020” or something similar but such appreciations might be pretty subjective and possibly arrogant (or might create such an appearance). So I thought it’s best to let you judge the “goodness” of my photos and decide if they really stand out.

Comparing to 2018 or 2019 this year was not so rich in photographs of newly encountered birds. However it wasn’t poor either. At the beginning of January I captured some interesting species on my sensor like the Eurasian wren (Troglodytes troglodytes), the great tit (Parus major) and the Eurasian nuthatch (Sitta europaea). You can find pictures with them in this post. I then had some “business meetings” with the Eurasian treecreeper (Certhia familiaris, see photo below) both in a Bucharest park and in a mountain village.

Also in Bucharest (to be more exact at Lake Dambovita) I managed to photograph the red-backed shrike (Lanius collurio) which is a beautiful but rather shy bird that easily gets scared. I managed to photograph both an adult and a juvenile in the hot season (see the two photos below).

Last but not least I noticed some juveniles of previously photographed birds, namely the coot and the white wagtail ones (see the two pictures below). It’s incredible how different children can look comparing to their parents!

Otherwise I photographed several other birds that I’ve encountered at least once in the last years: white and yellow wagtails, fieldfares, common terns, cormorants, swans, ducks, woodpeckers, doves, common blackbirds, coots, crested larks, redstarts and crested grebes. And of course the already intensely “hunted” seagulls, pigeons, crows and sparrows could not have been excepted. The truth is that no matter how often a bird is encountered one can still get spectacular images of it! Actually the frequently observed avian subjects are ideal for birds photography “experiments” where the simple logic can be applied: if you miss one opportunity it won’t hurt! It is most likely you’ll meet this bird species again very soon, maybe during the same day or hour.

This being said I’ll now let you enjoy the photo gallery below. I wish you Merry Christmas and all the best for the New Year!

Take care.

P.S. Check these posts too:

https://callofnatureblog.wordpress.com/2020/10/30/more-findings-on-photographing-birds/

https://callofnatureblog.wordpress.com/2018/03/18/birds-in-flight/

https://callofnatureblog.wordpress.com/2017/11/13/birds-and-some-findings-regarding-shooting-and-editing/

https://callofnatureblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/03/birds-5/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.